Published on Thursday, 28 January 2021 at 8:53:08 AM


The weather did not disappoint for the annual Shire of Waroona Australia Day Celebrations & Awards Ceremony. Hundreds of community members kicked off Australia Day by attending this anticipated community event.

The Lions Club of Waroona once again prepared and served a delicious, hearty breakfast.  This year the Club were able to generously give back to community by offering the breakfast free of charge with cash donation of $200 from the Shire of Waroona, kind donations of fruit from Capogreco Farms and milk & juice donated by Franco’s Milk supply. They certainly had their skates on serving around 250 meals! Alex Wayne created a wonderful atmosphere through breakfast with live music enjoyed by everyone.

The breakfast was followed by a convoy of community organisations, Just Cruizin Street Machiners members, emergency services vehicles and of course a tractor from De Rosa’s Highway Motors were in the street parade through local streets.

Children and adults alike were were entertained with face painting, colouring in, boomerang painting, the Lions Train, sheep dog demonstrations, garden games and  Meanda Park Miniature Animal Farm.

The official ceremony was opened by Cr John Mason who warmly welcomed Mr Robert Jetta to present the Welcome to Country.

The Waroona Shire’s own Karen Godfrey sang the National Anthem beautifully, as the Waroona Volunteer Fire & Emergency Services Cadets and Waroona Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Corporation members raised the Australian, West Australian, Aboriginal and Torres Strait flags with great pride.

Cr John Mason performed his usual best as emcee for the official ceremony with an exceptional poem he wrote which captured the diversity, pride and inclusivity of our nation.  Shire President Cr Mike Walmsley delivered an excellent Australia Day address, reflecting on the significance of community resilience amid the Covid 19 challenges faced by volunteer groups, individuals and the business community.

The announcement of the Shire of Waroona Meritorious Community Service Awards and  Australia Day Council Community Citizen of the Year Awards acknowledge and congratulate those residents of the Shire who voluntarily contribute tireless hours within the community to make it better place to live. The recipients presented with these awards demonstrate the wonderful Australian spirit of volunteering and the positive outcomes for the Waroona Shire, community groups and volunteers.

2021 Australia Day Awards are as follows:

Shire of Waroona Meritorious Community Service Award – 25 years & over recipients:

  • Trish Morris  
  • Jane Humby  


Australia Day Council of WA Citizen of the Year Award:

  • Larry Scott

Australia Day Council of WA Citizen of the Year Award Senior:

  • John Salerian

Australia Day Council of WA Award for Active Citizenship (Group / Event):

  • Preston Beach Volunteer Rangers

Mr Mike Walmsley congratulated all the award winners and recognised all nominations.

Honorary Freeman Mr John Twaddle was then welcomed to stage where he proudly presented the NSW Premier’s bushfire emergency citation awards to recognise the outstanding contribution of volunteers who were deployed to NSW to assist with the 2019-2020 bushfires.

The volunteers deployed were Brian Beales, Michael Simpson, Heath Yeomen, and Scott Evens, these brave men were acknowledged for their efforts on behalf of the NSW Premier and Commissioner of NSW. 

Shire President Mike Walmsley officiated the 2021 Citizenship Ceremony with MLA Robyn Clarke, and the community welcomed and congratulated our newest Australian Citizens for 2021.

Mrs Christine Urschitz

Master Louis Urschitz

Miss Ronia Urschitz

Mr Ross Blake

Mr Matthew Newman

Australia Day celebrations were also held at Preston Beach and Lake Clifton communities, organised by the respective Progress and Resident Associations, who once again excelled in their community spirit.

The Shire of Waroona would like to acknowledge Lions Club of Waroona, Waroona Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Corporation, Rob Jetta, Waroona Fire & Emergency Services Cadets, Karen Godfrey, Dave Lacey,  Just Cruizin Street Machiners and all the street paraders’ for their voluntary contribution to the event.  Assisted by the National Australia Day Council.


Back to All News